Wilton Decorating Courses

My finale cake from Level 2, royal icing and basket weave

Today is my last day of cake decorating, completed Wilton Course 3 – yay!

To beef up my decorating skills, I joined the Wilton Course Level 1 in May, learning to pipe and frost cakes with buttercream icing. Verdict : Fun but frosting too sweet for most Asian tastebuds! I learned a lot about the different tips providing different effects on the cake – it is a like a whole new world just opened up to me! But one thing I learned is and got confirmed again, I have no patience and you need it here!

I continued to Level 2 and 3 with Tricia Tjhin (my Level 1 was with Melena Yeong, another great teacher at B-I-Y at Bukit Timah Road). In Level 2 I was taught to handle royal icing. Verdict: Easy cleaning, dries very fast, less messy but still very sweet).  As for Level 3, I learnt how to handle fondant and made fondant roses and more royal icing flowers like the lily and morning glory, tiering cakes. Verdict : More polished look with fondant, and great pairing with royal icing to make a beautiful tiered cake – so wedding cakes, here I come! Learnt more flowers of course and borders.

My finale cake from Level 3, fondant cover and roses, with royal icing borders and design

So will I continue to Level 4? Not likely, I think I have had enough of flower making, more interested in practising to make figurines and models with fondant and royal icing. I will be snooping around for books and magazines or maybe YouTube videos to learn up more!

All in all, I had great fun and definitely am more confident in dressing up my cakes. Will certainly be experimenting on various frostings while only adding buttercream/fondant/royal icing for more complicated designs in order to provide the picture perfect cake!

Leave a Reply

