Homemade Oreos

I digress, from my path to a gluten free, low glycemic diet. I confess too, I have been considering slowly cutting out gluten foods from my diet for a couple of weeks now, as I am starting to get spots of eczema which is worrying me somewhat. A nutritionist advised me to go on a dairy free, no white sugar, gluten free and low glycemic diet to see if the eczema goes away.. I guess this is my one last celebration before a healthier diet! Sigh, which also means less baking – less cakes and cookies, but thankfully there are some interesting ‘healthier’ options I can turn my attention to, to experiment so I can still have my cake and eat it.

It was a recipe I found on Smitten Kitchen’s site  (reposting here) which I tried before and now recently decided to make another batch. They are really good. I only adapted very slightly the recipe marked *

For the chocolate wafers:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour * used organic unbleached flour
1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2  tsp of vanilla extract *
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1  cup sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 large egg

For the filling:
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1/4 cup vegetable shortening * ( I measured 1/4 cup of regular olive oil, placed it in the freezer for 6 hours to make it semi solid) 
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  1. Set two racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 375°F or 180 C
  2. In a food processor, or bowl of an electric mixer, thoroughly mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar. While pulsing, or on low speed, add the butter, and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.
  3. Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough. Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once for even baking. Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.
  4. To make the cream, place butter and shortening in a mixing bowl, and at low speed, gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.
  5. To assemble the cookies, in a pastry bag with a 1/2 inch, round tip, pipe teaspoon-size blobs of cream into the center of one cookie. Looks neater than trying to use a teaspoon to spread the icing which I did here. Place another cookie, equal in size to the first, on top of the cream. Lightly press, to work the filling evenly to the outsides of the cookie. Continue this process until all the cookies have been sandwiched with cream.

Makes about 16-20 cookies.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Oreos

  1. You can use coconut oil instead of olive oil. You don’t need to freeze coconut oil to get it to the semi-solid stage. Place the coconut oil in your fridge for 15 to 30 minutes and it get to the semi-solid stage a lot faster. If you happen to forget to take it out before then, the coconut oil will harden. Leave out a room temp or microwave every 10 seconds or until the desired stage is reached.

    • hey francine, thank you so much for the tip. I will try that next time! why didn’t i think of coconut oil, when I can actually get it here abundantly? 🙂

Leave a Reply

