Buttermilk Scones With Dried Cranberries

 

I had half a litre of organic milk (which I bought one day, thinking I was going to make pancakes) and 1/2 a lemon. What do you do? Well I made buttermilk scones out of it. I squeezed the lemon juice out and mixed it into my left over milk, shook it and left it in the fridge overnight. The next day I got what resembled buttermilk. Now time to make the scones.

Recipe (Makes 12)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup of Self Raising Flour
4 tbp of sugar
1 1/2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 sticks (6 ounces) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces. If using salted butter, reduce the salt
2/3 cup (approximately) buttermilk (but when measuring out put aside 1 cup)
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Position the oven racks on the upper tier of the oven and preheat the oven to 425 deg F (220 deg C).

In a medium bowl, stir the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together with a fork. Add the cold butter pieces, using your fingertips or a pastry blender, or two knives,rub the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs.

Pour in slowly about 1/2 cup buttermilk, toss in the dried cranberries, and mix with the fork only until the ingredients are just moistened–you’ll have a soft dough but not overly wet and heavy or too dry n crumbly. (If the dough looks dry, add another tablespoon of buttermilk as you go along, adding more as required.) Gather the dough into a ball, pressing it gently so that it holds together, turn it out onto a lightly floured work surface, and knead it very briefly.

Pinch a small ball of dough and I used my palm,  press it gently to resemble a disc of 1 inch or 2 plus cm thick. Using a heartshape cutter, best to use a cutter, make a clean pressing down movement to cut out the dough. Do not twist and turn, otherwise the scones will not have the nice layers when it rises during baking.

Brush the scones with the left over buttermilk. Bake the scones for 10 to 12 minutes, until both the tops and bottoms are golden. Transfer the scones to a rack to cool slightly. These are best served warm but are just fine at room temperature.

They can be frozen and dethawed in the fridge before warming them up on your bread toaster or back in a preheated oven of 160 degrees C, for about 5-10 mins.

12 thoughts on “Buttermilk Scones With Dried Cranberries

  1. Those scones look good. Would love to try out the recipe in the near future! Have you tried the recipe with real buttermilk? Whenever I buy buttermilk, I always end up throwing half away because I can’t finish it. If there are hardly any taste differences, I think I’ll just use your method.

    • I have tried real buttermilk, but like you, I too end up not finishing it and throwing it out. So I came out with this way of lemon juicing my milk and let it sit overnight. Love your post on Cafe Fable, I need to check this place out coz I am insanely crazy over vintage scandinavian design pieces! Saving my money for it. Any suggestions on local good singaporean food places?

      • I don’t know about “singaporean” food places, but I do like Blue Ginger for Peranakan food. I suppose you already know about this place. I also like Jin Long Restaurant in Bedok, which serves very nice cze char.

  2. looks good searched for scone recipe and picked yours because of the picture… not a classic scone pic! just put them in the oven can’t wait to get results, — by the way I love your method of adding the liquids, it made it easy to make the PERFECT dough, which I have seemed to ruin the other times I have tried to make scones… EVERY TIME I made them too wet! I used dried bluberries and dried cherries. will let you know results:) PERFECT DOUGH, thanks again, after all it is the little things in life!!!

  3. UHHmazing!!!! I am from South Carolina. Here, people LOVE their biscuits! These scones are buttery and almost biscuity . I was looking for a little drier, tea style scone, but was very pleased with these. This is my new go to scone recipe. people in this area will enjoy these more, I think, than what I originally wanted, although I think if i had kneaded the dough like the recipe stated, they would probably be more dry (for folks who like that type of scone) … by the way , I have a milk free recipe butter free, too if you’re interested email me!! thank you and now i will follow your blog!…daff

      • you are welcome– by the way , I met with a couple of ladies today of entirely different age groups and from different parts of the country . I was so pleased with my scones I shared one with each of them. to my joy they were as excited about the texture and amazing level of flavor of the scones, i think, as I am. They each asked for the recipe 2 and 1/2 hours later ( so i knew the compliments were sincere LOL). Since I am more of a food cook and not a baker so much , you can surely understand my delight in the outcome of this recipe!!!! ( ps when I took them out of the oven, I (lightly) brushed them with coconut oil and a very tiny sprinkle of salt and then sprinkled a tablespoon of sugar over the batch. ok i am surprised to be so long winded on a response, but I am thankful and guess I wanted you to know!! thank you again

    • Hi Daff, let me know if you have questions regarding Malaysian food – it is so varied I don’t even know how to introduce you to it!

      • ok are there appetizers similar to egg rolls? and maybe a sauce? then a beef dish and a chicken dish if there are some. even if they are just appetizers. I am currently looking for recipes i can send for fast food lunch eater, and ways to stretch dinner meats to feed more people.I am interested in learning what spice combinations are popular there, also. thank you!

Leave a Reply

