Finnish Buttermilk Cake

I know, what have I got in common with anything Finnish? Absolutely nothing , oh well except for buttermilk! I had 500ml of buttermilk in the fridge expiring soon, and not wanting to make another chocolate cake, I searched the world wide web – my trusted source for some inspiration. I found this Finnish Buttermilk Cake. There are no eggs in the recipe. It is a light spiced cake – great with a cup of tea. It reminds me of the ‘malaiko’ – chinese caramel steamed sponge cake.

PS – I came across this publication on the web, for those of you who want to venture further into Finnish sweets – http://www.pasty.com/heikki/recipes2008.pdf  

Finnish Buttermilk Cake

2 ½ cup plain flour
1 ½ cup caster sugar ( I used light brown sugar 1/2 cup and 1 cup ‘white’ granulated sugar)
1 ½ tsp bicarb soda
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ground clove*
2 tsp grated orange rind ( a blogger suggests this – optional)
½ cup melted butter
1 ½ – ¾ cup butter milk

* I did not have ground cloves, so I used ground mixed spice instead.

Sift dry ingredients, make a well in bowl.  Slowly add the wet ingredients (make sure you shake your buttermilk carton well, otherwise you would have the watery stuff at the top and all the thick curd is left at the bottom).  I used an electric hand held mixer at low speed to mix the batter up.

Pour into greased and sugared (using 2 tsp of  sugar) 23cm ring or kugelhopf tin.

Bake for about 50 minutes to 1 hour in 180°C oven.

Dust with icing sugar if desired, or glace it with a mixture of milk and powdered sugar, and a bit of grated orange rind sprinkled at the top.

Leave a Reply

