Torta di Limone (Lemon Cake)

Torta limone

The Italians I have to admit are masters in making ‘dolci’ – sweets and cakes! One of my favourites that they serve for breakfast is a light lemony cake. We were in Rome recently for 4 days,  while staying at the Aldrovandi Palace, I sampled their lovely torta which I had for breakfast , 4 consecutive mornings. Okay – I had something else healthy too, yogurt and fresh fruits, not only cakes! But I reckoned since we were out from 10am to 10pm each day walking non stop, I needed the energy from these simple carbohydrates.

Inspired somewhat, (and admittedly I am still in a citrusy phase) – I gave it a shot when I returned home. Made my own ‘torta di limone’ – lemon cake.

Recipe

  • 200 g plain flour + 50g of  ‘frumina’ or cornflour
  • 250 g sugar
  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 100 g butter, room temperature
  • juice of 1 lemon and rind of 2 lemons
  • 4 tbp of milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

Whisk the egg yolks with the sugar and butter until creamy and light. Incorporate the grated rind of lemon and the  juice, milk , mixing well and carefully. Gradually add the flour and baking powder

Beat the egg whites until stiff but not dry, then add the mixture gently into the cake batter, folding.

Grease and flour a cake pan , about 28 cm – pour the batter and bake in preheated oven at 180 ° C for about 40 minutes. Insert a skewer , should come out clean.

Once cool serve the cake with some whipped cream.

torta

Leave a Reply

