Pflaumenkuchen (Plum Cake – German Style)

 cake3

As usual, what I find in the market or in season is what I make!!  It all started because I got carried away in the market and I bought too many plums (1 kg) and I can’t eat all of them in time ( as usual) – so what do I do? I decided to try out this recipe I found on http://www.recipezaar.com/German-Plum-Cake-41721 . 

I can’t pronounce ‘Pflaumenkuchen’ but the result was good and that’s all that matters right now! I adapted slightly the recipe.

125g butter
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg
2 tablespoon sour cream or yogurt
1 pinch salt (only if you use unsalted butter)
1 teaspoon lemon, rind of
1 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups plums, pitted and sliced into thin wedges (or apricots – they do well too)

For the streusel

50g soft butter
3/4 cup flour
1/3 cup brown sugar or demerara
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven at 375 degrees F or 180 degrees C

In a large bowl, cream the butter, add the sugar, vanilla, egg, lemon peel, sour cream(or yogurt if using) and salt (if desired).

Mix the flour and baking powder and add that into the mixture.

Grease the base of a baking pan or lined it with parchment paper and spread the dough over the pan. The batter is drier than your usual cake mixture but more moist than your pastry base.

Liberally spread plums over the dough.

To make the optional topping, cream the butter, add flour, sugar and cinnamon.

Sprinkle over the plums and bake for 30-45 minutes in the middle rack .

Be careful not to let the bottom burn!

Serve with lots of freshly-made whipped cream.

sprinkle rum or cinnamon over the fruit before baking. if you so wish

cake2

3 thoughts on “Pflaumenkuchen (Plum Cake – German Style)

  1. this is a traditional recipe in my husband’s (German) family that is served to break fast at Yom Kippur-our traditions have changed now, but making that cake yesterday brought back good memories. See some differences that I might try to incorporate next time.

    • hi Mimi, thanks for telling me your tradition, I love recipes where there is a beautiful tradition/story around it. I added apricots & plums in this one and it tasted really good. Have a good Yom Kippur with the family, it is today?

Leave a Reply

